If you have a hearing impairment or struggle to communicate verbally you can contact the emergency services via text  – register now by texting “register” to 999 and follow instructions – or download the NGT Lite App from Apple App store or Google Play

close alert bar

New faces for county’s fire authority

A new leader is at the helm of Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Authority.

Councillor John Chatterley from Central Bedfordshire Council was elected as chairperson at today’s (June 6) Annual General Meeting of the Authority, which met at Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service’s headquarters in Kempston.

Cllr Chatterley has been a councillor for four years at Central Bedfordshire, sitting on the Authority throughout this time, and acting as Vice-Chairperson last year. He said: “I am very proud of this fire and rescue service and it is a great privilege to be voted as chairperson. I look forward to working with the incredible people we have here over the next year to continue the good work that is happening.”

Cllr Yasmin Waheed from Luton Borough Council was elected at vice-chairperson.

Chief Fire Officer Paul Fuller CBE officially welcomed the new Authority. He said: “The Authority is integral to the public accountability of our organisation to keep us focussed on delivering the best service we can to the 640,000 people that make up the diverse communities of Bedfordshire.

“As always, we have a busy year ahead of us; reaching those most vulnerable in our community to try and reduce their risk, keeping our professional staff trained and educated on the latest equipment and practices and exploring new ways to be effective, efficient and innovative to provide outstanding fire and rescue services that help make Bedfordshire safer. We look forward to working with the Authority to achieve this.”

The Authority welcomed new members Cllr Ray Berry (Central Bedfordshire), Cllr Ian Shingler (Central Bedfordshire), Cllr Kashif Choudhry (Luton), Cllr Khtija Malik (Luton) and Cllr Jon Gambold (Bedford), who join returning members Cllr Colleen Atkins (Bedford), Cllr Paul Duckett (Central Bedfordshire), Cllr David Franks (Luton), Cllr Michael Headley (Bedford), Cllr David McVicar (Central Bedfordshire) and Cllr Yasmin Waheed (Luton).

Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Authority is the independent body which ensures BFRS performs efficiently and in the best interests of the public and community it serves.